Tattoo-Friendly Baths in Japan

A practical guide for visitors

Tattoo-Friendly Baths in Japan

Check day access and tattoo rules before you go.

Find a bath you can use

40 verified baths

Only facilities with official tattoo-policy evidence appear here. Onsen, sento and super sento are labelled separately.

Verified day-visit baths

Rules last checked 7 Oct 2026 · Confirm before travel

Konohana no Yu (木の花の湯)

Gotemba, Shizuoka · Fuji–Hakone area
No tattoo restriction
Day-trip hot-spring spaNatural hot spring · own spring source

Tattoo access: Tattoo restrictions are lifted; the facility’s March 2025 notice sets the change from 1 Apr 2025.

Visit: Yes · day visitors welcome. Official admission & hours

Address: 2839-1 Fukasawa, Gotemba, Shizuoka 412-0023

Daikokuyu (大黒湯)

Higashiyama, Kyoto · Kyoto City
No tattoo restriction
Traditional sento (public bathhouse)Natural hot spring not verified

Tattoo access: The facility says tattoos are completely welcome and that it has no tattoo restrictions.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. No advance booking listed

Address: 284 Yamashiro-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0831

Yukoro Onsen (ゆころ温泉)

Niseko Hirafu, Kutchan · Hokkaido
Conditions apply
Day-use onsenOnsen; see official facility information

Tattoo access: The facility permits tattoos but refuses entry for traditional Japanese-style irezumi. It does not define the distinction.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day admission. Buy ticket at the on-site machine

Address: 1-163-53 Niseko Hirafu 2-jo, Kutchan, Hokkaido 044-0089

Thermae-Yu Shinjuku (テルマー湯 新宿店)

Shinjuku, Tokyo · Kabukicho
Conditions apply
Urban spa / super sentoFacility describes natural hot-spring water

Tattoo access: Women (Japanese or foreign): trial admission for fashion tattoos. If any single tattoo exceeds 30 × 30 cm, one ¥330 facility sticker is required; if there are multiple tattoos, no sticker is needed when each is within 30 × 30 cm. Foreign male tourists: one sticker plus passport or airline-ticket proof. Japanese men and foreign male residents with tattoos are refused, even with a sticker.

Visit: Yes · day admission. Walk-in; confirm current eligibility

Address: 1-1-2 Kabukicho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 160-0021

Shibu no Yu (渋の湯)

Kannawa, Beppu · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Local shared bathhouse (jimo-yu)Natural chloride spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. It does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public bath. No reservation; 100 JPY entry (coin locker)

Address: 1 Furohon, Kannawa, Beppu, Oita 874-0041

Ohtakinoyu (大滝乃湯)

Kusatsu, Agatsuma · Gunma
No tattoo restriction
Day-trip onsenNatural hot spring · all baths free-flowing

Tattoo access: The three official Kusatsu baths do not specifically refuse entry or bathing to people with tattoos; visitors are asked to follow bath etiquette.

Visit: Yes · day admission. No reservation needed for public baths; separate private bath is reservable

Address: 596-13 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun, Gunma 377-1711

Gozanoyu (御座之湯)

Kusatsu, Agatsuma · Gunma
No tattoo restriction
Day-trip onsenNatural hot spring · free-flowing baths

Tattoo access: The three official Kusatsu baths do not specifically refuse entry or bathing to people with tattoos; visitors are asked to follow bath etiquette.

Visit: Yes · day admission. No reservation needed for public baths; no private bath

Address: 421 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun, Gunma 377-1711

Sainokawara Open-Air Bath (西の河原露天風呂)

Kusatsu, Agatsuma · Gunma
No tattoo restriction
Day-trip open-air onsenNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: The three official Kusatsu baths do not specifically refuse entry or bathing to people with tattoos; visitors are asked to follow bath etiquette.

Visit: Yes · day admission. No reservation needed

Address: 521-3 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun, Gunma 377-1711

Jizo-Yu (地蔵湯)

Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka · Hyogo
No tattoo restriction
Public hot-spring bathhouseNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Toyooka City’s official tourism site says all seven public hot springs allow tattoos of all sizes without covering.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day visit. Adult ¥800; child ¥400 (official tourism listing updated Apr 2026)

Address: 796 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka, Hyogo 669-6101

Yanagi-Yu (柳湯)

Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka · Hyogo
No tattoo restriction
Public hot-spring bathhouseNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Toyooka City’s official tourism site says all seven public hot springs allow tattoos of all sizes without covering.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day visit. Adult ¥800; child ¥400 (official tourism listing updated Apr 2026)

Address: 647 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka, Hyogo 669-6101

Ichino-Yu (一の湯)

Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka · Hyogo
No tattoo restriction
Public hot-spring bathhouseNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Toyooka City’s official tourism site says all seven public hot springs allow tattoos of all sizes without covering.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day visit. Adult ¥800; child ¥400 (official tourism listing updated Apr 2026)

Address: 415-1 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka, Hyogo 669-6101

Goshono-Yu (御所の湯)

Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka · Hyogo
No tattoo restriction
Public hot-spring bathhouseNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Toyooka City’s official tourism site says all seven public hot springs allow tattoos of all sizes without covering.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day visit. Adult ¥800; child ¥400 (official tourism listing updated Apr 2026)

Address: 448-1 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka, Hyogo 669-6101

Mandara-Yu (まんだら湯)

Kinosaki Onsen, Toyooka · Hyogo
No tattoo restriction
Public hot-spring bathhouseNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Toyooka City’s official tourism site says all seven public hot springs allow tattoos of all sizes without covering.

Visit: Yes · walk-in day visit. Adult ¥800; child ¥400 (official tourism listing updated Apr 2026)

Address: 565 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka, Hyogo 669-6101

Solaniwa Onsen (空庭温泉)

Bentencho, Osaka · Osaka Bay Tower
Conditions apply
Large hot-spring theme spa / super sentoNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: The general rule excludes tattooed guests. Admission and bathing are allowed only when all tattoo/body-art is fully covered by Solaniwa’s own stickers; tattoos visible with the facility yukata must stay covered throughout the facility. No sticker-count limit is stated.

Visit: Yes · day visitors welcome. No overnight stay required; check official hours and ticket options

Address: 1-2-3 Benten, Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0007

Hotel Monterey Okinawa · Blue Leaf spa (ホテルモントレ沖縄)

Onna, Okinawa · Tiger Beach
Conditions apply
Hotel natural hot spring & indoor poolNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: Tattoo stickers must be used in the hotel baths, indoor pool and beach. Stickers are sold at the hotel convenience store; the official page gives no size or count limit.

Visit: Yes · day plan available. Telephone reservation required; current plan combines lunch and spa

Address: 1550-1 Fuchaku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun, Okinawa 904-0413

Yamasemi-no-Yu (やませみの湯)

Shimizu-ku, Shizuoka City · Shizuoka
No tattoo restriction
Municipal day-trip onsen bathNatural hot spring; official facility identifies a spring source

Tattoo access: Shizuoka City’s operator FAQ explicitly allows tattoos and says the same policy applies at the city’s other municipal bathing facilities.

Visit: Yes · public day bathing. Walk-in; adult ¥700, child ¥300. Closed Mondays (or next weekday when a holiday); year-end closure.

Address: 1449 Nishisato, Shimizu-ku, Shizuoka City, Shizuoka 424-0413

Yunoshima Onsen (湯ノ島温泉浴場)

Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City · Shizuoka
No tattoo restriction
Municipal day-trip onsen bathNatural cold mineral spring; official city listing gives spring type

Tattoo access: The city-operated bath is covered by Yamasemi’s FAQ statement that tattoos are allowed at Shizuoka City’s other municipal bathing facilities.

Visit: Yes · public day bathing. Walk-in; adult ¥600. 09:30–16:30; closed Thursdays (or next weekday when a holiday).

Address: 304-3 Yunoshima, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City, Shizuoka

Shirakabaso (白樺荘)

Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City · Shizuoka
No tattoo restriction
Municipal day-use onsen (also lodging)Natural sulfur spring; official city listing identifies spring

Tattoo access: The city-operated bath is covered by Yamasemi’s FAQ statement that tattoos are allowed at Shizuoka City’s other municipal bathing facilities.

Visit: Yes · day bathing; lodging also available. Walk-in; adult ¥600. Apr–Nov 10:00–18:00; Dec–Mar 10:00–17:00. Tuesdays closed except August and November.

Address: 1110-5 Tashiro, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City, Shizuoka

Kogane-no-Yu (黄金の湯)

Umegashima, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City · Shizuoka
No tattoo restriction
Municipal day-trip onsen bathNatural sodium bicarbonate spring; official city listing identifies spring

Tattoo access: The city-operated bath is covered by Yamasemi’s FAQ statement that tattoos are allowed at Shizuoka City’s other municipal bathing facilities.

Visit: Yes · public day bathing. Walk-in; adult ¥700. Apr–Nov 09:30–17:30; Dec–Mar 09:30–16:30. Closed Mondays (or next weekday when a holiday).

Address: 5342-3 Umegashima, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka City, Shizuoka

Maenohara Onsen Sayanoyudokoro (前野原温泉 さやの湯処)

Itabashi, Tokyo
Conditions apply
Day-trip onsen spa / super sentoNatural hot spring; source spring identified by facility

Tattoo access: The official policy page permits entry when tattoos are completely covered with up to two facility seals.

Visit: Yes · day admission. Two facility cover stickers, each up to 11 × 20 cm, must cover tattoos. Walk-in day admission; 09:00–24:00, last entry 23:00.

Address: 3-41-1 Maeno-cho, Itabashi-ku, Tokyo 174-0063

Myohoyu (妙法湯)

Nishi-Ikebukuro, Toshima · Tokyo
No tattoo restriction
Traditional sento (public bathhouse)Natural hot spring not verified; official page describes softened water

Tattoo access: The facility FAQ says tattooed visitors can bathe with no problem.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. 15:00–01:00; closed Mondays. Adult admission ¥550.

Address: 4-32-4 Nishi-Ikebukuro, Toshima-ku, Tokyo 171-0021

Tokyo Yokujo (東京浴場)

Nishi-Koyama, Shinagawa · Tokyo
No tattoo restriction
Traditional sento (public bathhouse)Natural hot spring not verified

Tattoo access: The facility FAQ explicitly says visitors with tattoos or irezumi may bathe.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. 05:00–12:00 and 14:00–02:00; closed Tuesdays (holiday schedule may vary).

Address: 6-7-2 Koyama, Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo 142-0062

Yudonburi Sakaeyu (湯どんぶり栄湯)

Nihonzutsumi, Taito · Tokyo
No tattoo restriction
Natural onsen sento (public bathhouse)Natural hot spring used throughout the baths, per facility

Tattoo access: The official English visitor page states “Our shop is tattoo OK!”

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. Weekdays/Saturday 14:00–23:00; Sundays/holidays 12:00–23:00; closed Wednesdays.

Address: 1-4-5 Nihonzutsumi, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0021

Tama-no-yu (玉の湯)

Nakagyo, Kyoto
No tattoo restriction
Traditional sento (public bathhouse)Natural hot spring not verified

Tattoo access: The official FAQ says people with tattoos may use the facility.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. Mon–Fri 15:00–24:00; Sat 14:00–01:00; closed Sundays.

Address: 401 Kameya-cho, Oshikoji-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0941

Thoron Onsen Inari (トロン温泉稲荷)

Nakagyo, Kyoto
No tattoo restriction
Traditional sento with artificial thoron bathArtificial mineral bath; not a natural hot spring

Tattoo access: The facility says tattooed visitors may bathe.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. Mon–Thu 16:00–23:00; Sat 15:30–23:00; Sun 09:30–23:00; closed Fridays.

Address: Sanjo Shin’en’nishi-iru Ima-Shinzaike-nishi 4, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto

YUMORI ONSEN HOSTEL

Tsuchiyu Onsen, Fukushima City · Fukushima
Private bath only
Onsen hostel with bookable private bathNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: The official page calls YUMORI tattoo-friendly and specifically directs tattooed guests to the private bath for a private space.

Visit: Yes · day-use private bath; day bathing is offered. The official site presents its tattoo-friendly option as private bathing; reserve/confirm private bath availability. Shared-bath tattoo permission is not verified.

Address: Dounoue 7-1, Tsuchiyu Onsen, Fukushima City, Fukushima 960-2157

Onsen Petit Hotel Yukori Bandai-Atami (湯kori)

Bandai-Atami, Koriyama · Fukushima
Conditions apply
Day-use onsen at a small hotelNatural alkaline simple spring · 100% source water per facility

Tattoo access: The facility says tattooed guests are welcome and specifically mentions fashion tattoos, but it does not define the category or say whether larger/traditional tattoos are included.

Visit: Yes · public day bath; optional room day-use plan. Bathing ¥700; usually 11:00–21:00 (last entry 20:00), Saturdays and eves of holidays 11:00–17:00 (last entry 16:00); closed Mondays and Tuesdays.

Address: 1-109 Atamimachi-Atami, Koriyama, Fukushima 963-1309

Hotel Mori no Kaze Oushuku (ホテル森の風鶯宿)

Oshuku, Shizukuishi · Iwate
Conditions apply
Hotel onsen with day-use admissionNatural alkaline simple spring

Tattoo access: The official policy says tattooed guests may bathe if they hide all tattoos with designated cover stickers or similar.

Visit: Yes · day-use admission 14:00–17:00. Tattoos must be fully hidden with designated cover stickers or similar. Day admission ¥1,000 adult / ¥500 child; 14:00–17:00.

Address: 10-64-1 Oshuku, Shizukuishi, Iwate 020-0574

Fukusenka (ふくせんか)

Ukiha, Fukuoka
Conditions apply
Day-use ryokan onsenNatural hot spring

Tattoo access: The official FAQ distinguishes small tattoos, allowed in the large public bath, from larger tattoos, which should use the family bath.

Visit: Yes · day-use public bath and same-day family-bath option. Small tattoos (about the size of a ¥500 coin) may use the shared bath; larger tattoos must use a family bath. Day admission: 13:00–21:00 (last reception 20:00); adult ¥800.

Address: 1099-8 Furukawa, Ukiha-machi, Ukiha, Fukuoka 839-1405

ReTIME (リタイム)

Naha · Okinawa
Conditions apply
Capsule hotel with public bath and saunaNatural hot spring not verified

Tattoo access: The official guide permits bath use only if tattoos can be concealed by two facility-provided stickers.

Visit: Yes · day-use admission (2-hour visit). Two facility stickers must cover tattoos; exposed tattoos in shared floors are also prohibited. Day-use 2-hour admission, ¥1,200; hours vary by weekday.

Address: 14-10 Higashimachi, Naha, Okinawa 900-0034

Teruyu Onsen (照湯温泉)

Myoban · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)Natural simple spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public day bath. 09:00–21:00, no regular closing day listed; ¥300.

Address: 5-kumi-1 Ogura, Beppu, Oita 874-0842

Netsu-no-Yu (熱の湯)

Kannawa · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)Natural chloride spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public day bath. 06:30–21:00; closed on an irregular year-end cleaning day; free.

Address: 1 Ida, Kannawa, Beppu, Oita 874-0043

Kitamatogahama-cho Onsen (北的ヶ浜町温泉)

Beppu Station · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)Natural bicarbonate spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public day bath. 06:30–22:00; closed 1st and 3rd Wednesdays; ¥100.

Address: 3-35 Kitamatogahama-cho, Beppu, Oita 874-0928

Ekimae Koto Onsen (駅前高等温泉)

Beppu Station · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Local shared bath / public onsenNatural simple spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public day bath. Check the official listing for current admission/hours; the page lists a tattoo-permitted tag and natural simple spring.

Address: 13-14 Ekimae-cho, Beppu, Oita 874-0935

Yuto Pier Hamawaki (湯都ピア浜脇)

Hamawaki · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Municipal health onsen / bathing facilityNatural simple spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · public day bath. 10:00–22:00; last reception 21:00; closed Tuesdays (or next day when a holiday); adult ¥700.

Address: 1-8-20 Hamawaki, Beppu, Oita 874-0947

Yumehinoki-no-Yu Dai-Butsu Onsen (ゆめひのきの湯 大仏温泉)

Beppu Station · Oita
Private bath only
Reservable private family onsenNatural alkaline simple spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing labels this specific facility “Tattoos permitted.”

Visit: Yes · private family bath only. Private bath by reservation, 45 minutes; day-use hours 11:30–17:30; irregular closure; online booking available.

Address: 4-6 Tenman-cho, Beppu, Oita 874-0906

Oyado Yunooka (お宿 湯の丘)

Horita · Oita
Private bath only
Ryokan with private family onsenNatural simple and sulfur springs

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing labels this specific facility “Tattoos permitted.” This tourism listing labels the overall facility tattoo-permitted and describes the day-use option as private family baths; we list only the private bath access.

Visit: Yes · private family bath day-use. Private room bath ¥2,500 for up to four; 10:00–20:00, ask after 15:00; closed Thursdays; availability depends on lodging occupancy.

Address: 4-1 Ogura, Beppu, Oita 874-0842

Beppu Sand Spa (別府海浜砂湯)

Kamegawa · Oita
Official listing: tattoos permitted
Day-use sand bath / onsenNatural chloride spring

Tattoo access: Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.

Visit: Yes · day admission. Check the official listing for current hours/fees; day-use attraction.

Address: 795-1 Shoningahama-machi, Beppu, Oita 874-0023

Healthy Onsen Tateba (ヘルシー温泉タテバ)

Naniwa, Osaka City · Osaka
No tattoo restriction
Sento / urban bathhouse (natural spring not verified)Natural onsen not verified; listing describes sento baths

Tattoo access: The official FAQ says guests with tattoos may use the facility. The facility page describes the site as a sento, so “Onsen” in its name is not treated as proof of a natural spring.

Visit: Yes · walk-in public bath. 14:00–05:00; open daily per current official facility pages. Check current notices before visiting.

Address: 2-14-19 Sakuragawa, Naniwa-ku, Osaka City, Osaka 556-0022

Century Marina Hakodate (センチュリーマリーナ函館)

Hakodate · Hokkaido
Conditions apply
Hotel spa / day-use onsenNatural sodium-chloride strong saline spring

Tattoo access: The hotel permits tattooed guests who follow its rules; the specified cover seals must fully conceal the tattoos.

Visit: Yes · day visitors on listed dates. Tattoos must fit under up to two facility cover seals, each 15 × 10 cm. Current day-entry hours vary by date; the hotel posts a monthly calendar.

Address: 22-13 Otemachi, Hakodate, Hokkaido 040-0064

How to read the rules

  • No tattoo restriction: the facility explicitly allows tattoos in its shared bath.
  • Conditions apply: access depends on the stated conditions, such as visitor status, size or a facility-issued cover sticker.
  • Private bath only: tattoo use is supported only for a bookable private bath; shared-bath tattoo permission is not verified.
  • Official listing says tattoos permitted: a facility-specific official tourism tag is present, but its listing does not describe size or cover conditions.

“Onsen” means a natural hot spring. A sento or super sento is not automatically an onsen.

Before you visit

Opening hours and tattoo rules can change. Check the official source on the day of your visit, and contact the facility if your situation is not covered by its published wording.

Unverified leads are kept out of the recommendations. We do not claim to have visited these facilities.

About this guide and booking links. Official facility pages are the source for tattoo rules. A standard, non-affiliate Klook link is available for Solaniwa Onsen admission. No paid tracking or booking commission is active.
Information checked 7 Oct 2026. This is not a live status feed. Read the sources and coverage log for evidence, exclusions and remaining research.